Home > Observations > The destructive nature of gambling

The destructive nature of gambling

January 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Am I the only one who has noticed that the poorer an area, the higher the number of gambling establishments that can be found there? In the last 12 months, I noticed that three new bookies have set up shop in a particular poor area that I know and before these new bookies opened up there were already three others there! This is an area with a high unemployment rate yet everyday on my way home from work the bookies are all very busy.  I don’t understand it.  I play the national lottery but I spend little amounts that I can afford to lose. I know the odds of me winning the jackpot are slim so I don’t hold out much hope. It’s just nice to know that, it could be me!

I also notice that online gambling establishments are making it easier for people to throw their money away on gambling.  Now there are lots of adverts on TV late at night enticing people to the world of online gambling. I went to some gambler recovery website and read stories of people getting into debt and damaging their relationships as a result of gambling.  I think it’s okay to gamble but just don’t be so darn stupid about it.

  1. September 17, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Although the manager changed the burglar alarm code without assistance from the
    locksmith, the locksmith could have helped with that too. We are a national mobile locksmith company that has been serving Jamaica, New York with all their locksmith needs for the past several years.
    The integral thing that you need to remember is how fast the service provider will come to your aid during emergency.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

