Home > Miscellaneous, Relationships > Debates – agreeing to disagree?

Debates – agreeing to disagree?

I was having a discussion with a friend. The discussion turned into a debate which got rather heated and I suggested that we agree to disagree but he refused. He got annoyed and yelled at me. I calmly told him that I would speak to him when he has calmed down and as I walked away, he said that I lacked passion.  Later on when he had calmed down he explained that his reason for saying that was that he expected me to shout back at him and make my point because doing that shows passion. I did not know what to say to that because his explanation did not make sense to me.  Once a debate gets to the point where people are shouting at each other, it is no longer a debate. It becomes an argument.

When I’m having a debate and it gets heated, then that’s a sign that it’s time to stop so I agree to disagree.   Having a debate is not about forcing my views on the opposing side or the opposing side forcing their views on me. It’s about explaining why we have the views that we do on a particular topic.  Shouting does not makes one’s point any more valid. In my opinion, people who start shouting during a debate are either trying to detract from the fact that they have no valid points to support their stance or they are immature and have no business entering a debate with anyone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

