Home > The joys of work > Give a little bit more…

Give a little bit more…

For some inexplicable reason, I have developed an interest in the activities of Human Resources personnel. I am always on the lookout for views held by HR staff on tribunal cases and employee problems because I realise that sticking to the rules at work is not enough for HR. They always expect more from employees. Little wonder then that I found interesting thread on a HR  forum.  A HR person seeks advice from her associates because an employee isn’t interested in impressing anyone and won’t work more than his contractual hours. She writes:

When asked to work late one evening he flatly refused stating he only works during office hours. At lunch time he stops work and goes and sits outside until lunch time is over.

When he arrives in the morning he doesn’t start work until official working time starts. I have tried talking to him, reasoning with him that this is not the kind of impression he should be making so early in his employ with us but I am hitting a deadpan face that clearly doesn’t care. As far as I know legally there isn’t much I can do about this as his work is good and always up to date.

The manager expects me to sort this out and turn him into a more accommodating employee (team player) but after many conversations I realise this isn’t going to happen overnight.

Er…okay. I read the story and could not understand why the HR person was complaining. In my view, just because others choose to work extra hours does not mean that this should be expected of all staff. If this same employee was working 60 hour weeks,  would that HR person be complaining?  I doubt it. If people are expected to work longer than they are contracted to work, let them either do it willingly or give them an incentive but don’t force them to work for free at the expense of their personal lives. Perhaps the employee in question is one of those who learned his lesson with a previous employer and now works to rule and who can blame him?  I think HR need to realise that the times of showing such dedication to an employer are long gone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

