Home > Observations > Amazon.co.uk’s ‘free’ delivery costs too much! (Conclusion)

Amazon.co.uk’s ‘free’ delivery costs too much! (Conclusion)

I woke up this morning still fuming about my Amazon order so I phoned their customer services line. The customer services representative told me that Royal Mail could not deliver my items and my refund had already been processed so I have to place a new order.  That made me more annoyed. In my normal voice, I replied,  “This is out of order. You won’t believe how angry I am” which I think was rather pointless. I mean, if you are angry you are supposed to sound angry, right?

I have a ploy I use on customer services staff.  When they refuse to grant my request, I don’t raise my voice. I ask again very politely and if they still say ‘No’, then I start complaining and rambling on about how I have always been a loyal customer and will stop using their service blah blah blah. I know they don’t care if I leave or stay but all that whining, done in a monotone voice, usually wears them down and eventually they either tell me an emphatic “sorry but there’s nothing I can do” or they give me what I want.  Most of the time,  I get what I want.

So I tried my strategy with the Amazon customer services woman. First I asked her, “Is there anything you can do to sort this out without my having to place a new order, please? I would really appreciate it because I don’t fancy paying double for an item that cost much less just 10 days ago”. “I’m sorry, there’s nothing I can do”, she replied.  So I took a deep breath and started whining, “I just can’t pay double the latest price for this item. It’s more than double the original price….I have been a loyal customer for yeeeears… I will take my custom elsewhere ….This is not right…This is sooo unfair…. how can my address be ‘undeliverable’ when the postman has been delivering my other mail all week…I neeeever have this problem when I use your express delivery…You can’t treat customers this way…” I just went on and on.  I must have been speaking for about 3 minutes before she said, “I will see what I can do. Can you stay on the line please? I’ll now put you on hold.” A few minutes later she was back and she said, “You will have to place a new order”. I took a deep breath, ready to start complaining again when she quickly added, “BUT while we are on the line, I will edit the price so you pay the amount that was on your first order. It will also be sent to you by first class delivery for free.”  My voice returned back to normal. I thanked her and said I would prefer to use Express delivery. She said Amazon could only give me a refund for half the cost of the express delivery. “No problem”, I replied.  I was not even expecting a discount on it.  So, while she was still on the phone, I placed the order and since the express delivery was going to be half-price, I added some more items that were not on my initial order. I suspect she did not say anything because she did not want me to go off on a tangent again.  She adjusted the price. I thanked her and apologised for subjecting her to my whining. She laughed and told me to have a nice day. I wonder if she meant it :mrgreen:.

A happy ending!

  1. May 28, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is simlly placing the other person’s
    web site link on you page aat suitable plkace and other person will
    also do same in favor of you.

  2. September 23, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Just want tto say your articdle is as astounding.
    The clearness on your publish is just grteat and i can assume
    you’re a professional on this subject. Well
    with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed
    to stay up too date with approaching post. Thank
    youu 1,000,000 annd pleaze keep up the enjoyable
    work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

